Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/21/2016 1:49:24 PM EDT
EDIT: If you visit ruled.me and think this looks familiar I also posted it over there but that board does not have near the traffic of good ol' arfcom!

I'm new to keto and have been making the change for the last couple of weeks. I'm currently 48 years old, 5'10 and 250lbs. I do not have diabetes but my wife does, (type 2). I have been using her glucose meter to check my blood and it stays in the low 100's, (around 102-ish). I'm down about 10 lbs over the last 2 weeks due to the change in my eating habits. I've had NO bread, rice, potatoes, or other sugary/starchy foods at all during this time. I feel great and I don't get as hungry as I used to when eating lots of carbs. We've also been walking several times a week, (2.5+) miles each time.

A few things I've noticed and a few questions I would like to ask. First, I've read quite a bit about keto over the last few weeks. One of the things specifically is the "keto flu". So far I have not had anything remotely close to this. Is that because I haven't fully started to adapt yet? I've been monitoring my ketones with the urine strips, (I know, they aren't accurate but they could at least give me an indication if I'm headed in the right direction). Some days the indicator says I have "moderate" ketons, other days it shows "small".
No biggie. Regardless, I know my eating habits have changed and I feel good, so that's what matters, right?

Also, last week I had a yearly check up with my doctor, (been a few years since my last one and this was with a brand new doctor I had never seen before). The doctor came in and he was actually more overweight than I am, BUT, he is a good doctor. We did the usual things during the physical and my blood was also drawn.
A few days later I get a letter in the mail from their office with the results of my blood work.