Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/23/2014 6:10:46 PM EDT
OK some background.   I just turned 47.  I've been dropping weight since September.  Was about 320 (331 at my last physical of June '13)  Was 258 as of last week.
I tried several "exercise" and "workout" plans.  Had a personal trainer for a while (over the past 3 years on and off).  I finally had a few wake up calls that got my attention and I got serious about my health and conditioning.

I've lurked in this forum for about a year.  Also at BB.com.  I finally picked up Starting Strength (mainly from seeing it mentioned here so much) and Practical Programming for Strength Training.  Started reading Rip's website.  Ripped out the carpet in my living room, put down fake wood flooring, put stall mats on top of that.  Spent a lot of time on Craigslist and gave Rogue a decent chuck of coin for a rack and barbell.

I started lifting two weeks ago and I'm hooked!

Things I've learned:

Bro-science is everywhere and most people are interested in selling their products and NOT help you with your health/fitness goals.
Diet is king!  Once you have that under control, it makes life MUCH easier.
Research EVERYTHING!  If you found out about it from an Internet pop-up ad...it's a LIE!  
This place actually has a few folks that know WTF they are talking about!  

So that's part of my story....

....AND GO!

Link Posted: 4/23/2014 8:20:11 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
OK some background.   I just turned 47.  I've been dropping weight since September.  Was about 320 (331 at my last physical of June '13)  Was 258 as of last week.
I tried several "exercise" and "workout" plans.  Had a personal trainer for a while (over the past 3 years on and off).  I finally had a few wake up calls that got my attention and I got serious about my health and conditioning.