Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/15/2017 7:03:36 PM EDT
Tell me about them.
Looks like I'm gonna trade into one for a good deal.

I'm not a sniper/long range expert. I'm looking to bang steel @ 500 and under.
I've killed alot of Prarie dogs at that distance with varmint rifles when I lived in SD so I'm not a novice but nowhere near an expert.

I know I want to ditch the Houge stock. Anything like a McMillan A5 or A4 but closer to the $300 price range?

Is the trigger decent?

Planning on threading it for my Omega and I have a Leopold MK4 8.5-25x50 to go on it.

Any other essential upgrades or is this an ok turn-key tactical bolt gun?
Link Posted: 3/15/2017 10:24:48 PM EDT
[#1]
You will have to just shoot it to see how it does.

Bell & Carlson or HS Precision is a good alternative to McMillan stocks at almost half the cost.
Link Posted: 3/16/2017 1:13:45 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Tengo1] [#2]
Awesome guns. It was my first precision bolt gun and I smoked several coyotes past 400 yards with it. I later upgraded to the SPR A3G, which is obviously a big step above.

Midwest gun works has McMillan stocks for FN bolt rifles on clearance from $199 to $399 depending on the model. The barrel channel might be a bit wide as there made for the SPR which has a heavier barrel, but the PBR will drop right in.

MGW McMillan stocks

*also, the trigger can be tuned and lightened with two small adjustable nuts on the factory trigger.
Link Posted: 3/16/2017 4:35:26 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Ditch-Tiger] [#3]
Tango- thanks for the link, $399 for the A4 stock is getting closer to where I want to be with it.
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!