Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/2/2017 11:12:48 PM EDT
I am totally new to the long range shooting game and I have around a 550$ budget. I know that's not much, it's for the rifle and scope. I have found the savage model 11/111 with Nikon scope package deal. I'm open to any other rifle/ scope combo within the 550$ budget. I will not be shooting past 500 yards and I will be reloading the ammo (I already reload 9mm). Which cartridge is better .308 or 6.5 for my needs, long range target and hunting?
Link Posted: 4/3/2017 8:47:46 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 4/3/2017 9:09:47 AM EDT
[#2]
As mentioned at 500 yards caliber isn't a big deal but much farther and 6.5 will start to edge the 308 for a beginner. 

Your budget might make this tough. Maybe look for a used Savage model 10 and a SWFA fixed power scope
Link Posted: 4/3/2017 11:18:23 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Rob01:
Either will work to 500 yards for your needs. The Creedmoor will shoot flatter and better in the wind though. And if going farther then definitely the Creedmoor.

Have you looked at the Howa rifle packages also?
https://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=Howa+package
View Quote
I have looked at Howa rifle packages, but the scope that it comes with isn't as good as the Nikon. I can't find any reviews on the scope and the ones on Amazon aren't good at all. It would be nice if I could just buy the base rifle and buy the scope separately, but I don't see that option. Thanks for the reply the more I research the more I'm leaning towards the 6.5 creedmoor, but the barrel life is a negative for me.
Link Posted: 4/3/2017 11:46:38 AM EDT
[#4]
Savage Axis line of combos may work for you. Try for an Axis II if you can.
Link Posted: 4/3/2017 10:28:07 PM EDT
[#5]