Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/7/2016 4:04:20 PM EDT
I am new to the bolt gun world. I am looking at doing a Rem 700 chambered in .300 win. This will be a rifle designed for hunting in Alaska not sitting on a bench. Are these a nice option or is the HS precision stocks that come on rems from the factory a better route to go? thanks
Link Posted: 11/9/2016 9:26:53 PM EDT
[#1]
Can't comment yet on how it works in the cold, but I'm pretty happy with my Magpul so far. It's a no nonsense bit of equipment that basically threw out a lot of traditional design concepts and focused on what actually mattered. Particularly with their mag system it is a good setup and very economical. I'm not sure if they will or do offer mags that will work with the 300 Win though, so that aspect might not matter.
I've never used one of the HS Precisions on a LA Remington so I'm not much help there. My Magpul is on what started life as a 223 ADL bargain special. I basically wanted to buy a barreled action and that was the cheapest route.
Link Posted: 11/11/2016 12:24:04 PM EDT
[#2]
I would keep the HS stock.  There are a couple manufacturers of drop in AICS long action dbm's (long actions being single stacked) if that is what you want.  
Link Posted: 11/11/2016 8:50:08 PM EDT
[#3]
My brother has one on his M700. Very nice stock with a lot of handy features for a very reasonable price. I see no reason it wouldn't survive a lifetime of hunting.
Link Posted: 3/11/2017 8:54:04 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By lew:
My brother has one on his M700. Very nice stock with a lot of handy features for a very reasonable price. I see no reason it wouldn't survive a lifetime of hunting.
View Quote

I have a 20" .308 varmint contour in a hunter stock and it feels a bit heavy for hunting...
Link Posted: 3/11/2017 4:06:02 PM EDT
[#5]