Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/29/2014 2:22:33 AM EDT
I recently ordered a Big Bertha 50BMG from East Ridge Gun Co in Wisconsin. I saw some older posts from here when I googled East Ridge Gun Co. I am very excited, I should get it in late March.
I was wondering if any of you could tell me the advantages of getting the 20 MOA rail and also the Stainless or Fluted Barrel.
I am new at this, so any help would be appreciated.
By the way, Larry at East Ridge is a great guy.
Thank you for any help.
Link Posted: 12/5/2014 7:57:41 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm a new guy to precision rifles, and especially the 50 cal, but I think I can answer some of your questions. If a knowledgeable shooter comes along and corrects me, he/she is probably right

The advantage of the 20 MOA rail, as far as I understand, would give your scope more internal elevation
adjustment range. Here is an excellent article https://demigodllc.com/articles/practical-long-range-rifle-shooting-optics/?p=4

The advantage of a stainless barrel would just be the barrel would be more harsh weather resistant, rust, etc.

The advantage of a fluted barrel is a more rigid barrel, and faster cooling, which is desirable.

Hope this helped.
Link Posted: 12/19/2014 7:56:55 AM EDT
[#2]
Larry is a great guy. You'll be pleased for sure. Enjoy it!
Link Posted: 1/1/2015 5:53:02 PM EDT
[#3]
Getting barrel fluted does also lighten the rifle up 'A little".. When you get it you are gonna be amazed at how massive this thing is.. It is a work of art though and a joy to shoot...
Link Posted: 3/15/2015 11:28:10 PM EDT
[#4]