Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/7/2015 5:23:35 PM EDT
[Last Edit: LRRPF52]
This is a boonie hat design I've been working on for a few years.  I always had the problem of getting burned really badly when out shooting all day, day after day, because I would have to fold up the brim of my boonie hats in order to get the ear muffs on my head.

Since I'm of Scandinavian heritage, I get burned badly by the sun, especially at high altitude. Anyway, after a match one 40mph weekend up in Park City, I looked like a lobster, and needed to do something about this if I'm to have any hope of avoiding melanoma.  

Here's my initial prototype:

Link Posted: 12/7/2015 5:31:58 PM EDT
[Last Edit: LRRPF52] [#1]
More refined:

Link Posted: 12/7/2015 11:41:09 PM EDT
[Last Edit: netwt12] [#2]
I'm not that industrious. I had to buy suppressors.
Link Posted: 12/8/2015 6:25:19 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By netwt12:
I'm not that industrious. I had to buy suppressors.
View Quote

I still wear electronic muffs when shooting suppressed and around course attendees who are shooting suppressed.

I haven't seen any suppressors that keep the sun off my face and neck.
Link Posted: 12/10/2015 5:56:20 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Talyn] [#4]
I like it. Especially the neck protection & leaf additions to break-up the signature.

When are you going into production?  Do you need a Beta tester?
Link Posted: 12/10/2015 6:42:49 PM EDT
[#5]
Originally Posted By Talyn:
I like it. Especially the neck protection & leaf additions to break-up the signature.

When are you going into production?  Do you need a Beta tester?
View Quote

Ditto on this comment. I like it.
Link Posted: 12/19/2015 1:00:56 AM EDT
[#6]

Link Posted: 12/20/2015 10:00:47 PM EDT
[#7]