Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/21/2017 8:19:25 PM EDT
[Last Edit: CajunRebel]
I've been reloading for 30 years, pistol and rifle (.22Hornet, .223Rem., 6.8SPC, .270) and would like to branch out beyond the typical reloading (plinking/nominal accuracy improvement) and standard reloading dies (Lyman/Hornady).  Maybe something allowing a little more accuracy.  Therefore, I was considering buying a commercial bolt-action 6.5 Creedmoor rifle.  I'm not intending to compete or shoot at 1000yds, but I would like to do the best I can without being anal and buying custom dies.  For the first time, I thought I would try using a sizing-die employing a neck bushing.

1)  If the bullet is .264", brass neck thickness is .013 - .015, and I want .001" neck tension, do I get a single .291" bushing, buy multiple neck bushings and segregate the brass by neck thickness, or turn the necks down for consistency, .014" and use the .291" bushing?

2) If I neck-size, don't I need a standard FL-die for new brass to be fire-formed?
( I think I answered my own question - buy a FL neck-bushing die and bump the shoulder back .002".)
Link Posted: 6/21/2017 9:52:59 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Reorx] [#1]
Originally Posted By CajunRebel:
...1)  If the bullet is .264", brass neck thickness is .013 - .015, and I want .001" neck tension, do I get a single .291" bushing, buy multiple neck bushings and segregate the brass by neck thickness, or turn the necks down for consistency, .014" and use the .291" bushing?
View Quote