Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/28/2017 10:02:35 PM EDT
I'm new to reloading I just picked up a Lee 1000pro with 223 dies but want to be able to use it for .50 Beowulf as well  is this possible on a 3 die turret as the Beowulf uses 4 dies instead of 3 like the 223 dies. is the crimping die necessary if I'm not using lead bullets ive read that's why the seating and crimping dies are separated so when using the seating die the lead doesn't get shaved when crimping in the same step any help is greatly appreciated thanks
Link Posted: 3/28/2017 10:30:56 PM EDT
[#1]
The Lee Pro 1000 has a very steep learning curve. I would not use it for a first press to begin loading on. As far as a three or four die setup I always seat and crimp in the same station. Even using lead bullets I have never had a problem with seating and crimping at the same time. I don't know what all the big deal is about when people require separate seating and crimping stations.
Link Posted: 3/29/2017 12:16:10 AM EDT
[Last Edit: wingsnthings] [#2]
I agree. Pro 1000 works good but you need to start on a single stage first. You might get by with a turrent press but you need to learn each step happening one at a time before you try to figure out everything happening at once. And then start loading pistol rounds. I use my Pro1000 for most of my reloading. I don't size. 223 on it. I have cases sized and trimmed first so first stage is an empty hole. I size and load .45ACP with cast bullets but final crimp is done on my single stage. Since priming is done below powder drop, loose kernels falling will foul primer feed,  vacuum cleaner can get you running quick. And clean primer feed track often. Last 15 primers will have to be "helped" as gravity is lost as they hit bottom. And watch powder level in Hopper and look into cases before seating bullets. Case and bullet feeds are a waste of money IMO. I hand feed as fast as feeder works.