Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/6/2017 1:42:34 AM EDT
Hey guys,

I Have a custom 243 and 6.5 Creedmoor that I want to start Reloading ammo for. I want to purchase the Redding competition dies but I'm a little confused on which dies I need. I have been reloading 223 and 9mm for the past 2 years. But Bolt action seems to be a little different. Should I go with a Full Length Sizing die and not worry about the neck sizing die or go with the set that has the neck sizing die, body die, and bullet seating die? Also I will be purchasing either Norma or Lapua brass and using Sierra, Nosler, and Barns bullets to try out which I like the most. I understand I need a Bushing for the Neck Sizing Die and I want to make sure I understand how to figure out which size bushing I need. I Load my new brass like normal and then after the bullet has been seated I will measure the neck width and subtract .001 from the measurement. If I'm wrong I would love some advice. Thanks in advance I appreciate all the help I can get.
Link Posted: 1/6/2017 12:41:51 PM EDT
[Last Edit: popnfresh] [#1]
A Redding type S FL sizer die is probablythe way to go. You'll need your brass before you get the neck bushing though as neck wall thicknesses differ. The die full length sizes but allows you to choose  how much you size the neck based on your bushing choice.

Buy a Redding Competition seater or a Forster ultra micrometer seater. These are expensive dies but you will likely end up with them anyway.
Link Posted: 1/6/2017 3:09:08 PM EDT
[#2]
Originally Posted By shaynecrocker:
I want to purchase the Redding competition dies but I'm a little confused on which dies I need. I have been reloading 223 and 9mm for the past 2 years. But Bolt action seems to be a little different.
View Quote

Only in that a bolt gun may deliver more accuracy if you can make the ammo match what the gun likes.