Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/6/2015 5:30:49 PM EDT
I'm looking for one of those climbing tree stands that I can pack on my back and take with me to set up wherever I want to bow hunt from. I have no experience nor do I know anyone who has one.   Any recommendations?
Link Posted: 4/6/2015 6:13:45 PM EDT
[#1]
I have a cheap gorilla climber that has worked well for almost 10 years. you want one that is quiet and easy to set up in the dark. Also be sure to check the weight limit, as some I have seen are kinda light weight for a full sized man with gear in my opinion. I'm sure someone will be along soon with more specific info good luck. I love using a climber..oh and make sure you have one of those vest harness setups. Way nicer than the nut smashing belt harness.

Edit to add: I got mine because it was affordable to me at the time, and it has a nice large platform to stand when drawing the bow.  Platform size is important to me standing up making a draw with buck fever!
Link Posted: 4/7/2015 9:36:18 AM EDT
[#2]
I have a Summit Viper which I like just fine but since I have switched to traditional with the longer bows I would rather have the Razor.
Link Posted: 4/7/2015 4:48:44 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the tips guys.  Seems these things aren't cheap.  But I'd rather not be 20ft in the air with "made in china" under my feet.  The Ol'Man brand looks appealing and their aluminum model weighs 15 lbs but its about $280.  What's an easy to use easy to carry safe one I can go for?
Link Posted: 4/8/2015 7:56:52 AM EDT
[#4]
I'd say in the climbing stand threads I've seen on various sites Summit and Lone Wolf always seem to end up being the 2 most popular.
Link Posted: 5/20/2015 2:47:06 AM EDT
[#5]
I had a Gorilla.  I liked the expanded steel mesh platform, but it was heavy, noisy and a bit sketchy with the clevis pins.  I sold it and bought a Summit.