Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/18/2012 3:17:59 PM EDT
here in western NY (northern Niagara county)  archery used to start around Oct. 15th...this year it starts Oct 1st  problem is  weird (abnormal for this area ) deer patterns. we had a very early warm spring where everything blossomed then we got a late frost and wiped just about everything out.  I also noticed very few acorns this year.  
  well I have been out a few times checking cams and patterning the early season deer...I have been hunting the same properties for the last 15 years and this year is different. the lack of food is driving them out of the hardwoods and into backyards to raid bird feeders, yeh I know that's not unusual...but around here it doesn't happen till December or January.
they are also bedding closer to the residential areas.  we had a very mild winter with very little snow, the population is up but they are not where they usually are...we cannot  have feeders in this libtard state,  I like getting out in the early season so I don't have to freeze my ass of in December. I hope they return to the old trails.
Link Posted: 9/21/2012 10:01:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Sounds like you have patterned them.  Dont hope, go where they are!
Link Posted: 9/24/2013 9:54:31 PM EDT
[#2]
Fellow western NYer here (Livingston county).. I thought maybe it was just me, but I have talked to quite a few other ppl and they have all say the same thing.. On my land the deer seemed to be moving backwards from last year, also I have not seen a single buck all summer, or on any of my trail cams..
Link Posted: 9/25/2013 2:13:30 PM EDT
[#3]
Im in cattaragus county and my land is loaded with apples and acorns.  I havent seen a ton of deer yet but i tend to stay out until season opens.

The odd thing for me is i need to kill one by halloween or they just seem to disappear.  Happens every year.  
Link Posted: 9/25/2013 8:11:21 PM EDT
[#4]