Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/30/2017 5:25:29 PM EDT
The shafts I bought are 31 inches I was told to cut them to my draw length before installing the points

I think it is about 28inches.  will the extra length cause that much difference??

Thanks
Link Posted: 5/30/2017 5:46:07 PM EDT
[#1]
It is not about the extra length, it is about the proper spine tension of the arrow from your bow, leave yourself 1/2" for broad-heads, have someone measure while you pull it back. My draw is 32 1/2 ", makes for long ass arrows.
Link Posted: 5/31/2017 11:00:44 AM EDT
[#2]
I did mention I was a newbie?  Thanks
Link Posted: 12/23/2017 3:19:30 AM EDT
[#3]
Have someone mark the arrow with a pencil/marker 1" in front of the bow when your at full draw. Do this several times to make sure you get an accurate measurement.

The goal is to use the shortest arrow for your draw.

As the arrow becomes shorter, the spline becomes stiffer. The heavier the bow's draw weight, the stiffer the spline needs to be.

A longer arrow requires more feather or tail drag to stabilize it....especially with a broad head. More drag slows the arrow.

Short arrow = smaller diameter, lighter weigh, less fletching = faster flatter flight
Link Posted: 1/30/2020 1:14:46 PM EDT
[#4]
All of which is out the window since he already bought arrows of a particular spine, so now it's a matter of matching arrow length, tip and tail weight and bow power. The length will be whatever makes the math work, or cut to "ideal" length for tip position and hope it's not too stiff (assuming they were the right spine shafts and that's not still too soft)

In practice, take them to your shop and ask for help. They'll either run it through the software or open up the catalog and find the chart for those shafts, find out what points you plan to run and your draw weight and figure it all out close enough for practical use.