Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Archery » Bows
Posted: 11/10/2013 8:00:55 PM EDT

So a friend is trying to get me into bow hunting and to be honest, im pretty excited.

He told me to start by looking at bass pro and when I did, the guy suggested this one:
http://www.basspro.com/RedHead-Kronik-XT-Compound-Bow-Packages/product/12022805011343/

I have no real experience. Ive shot recurve bows when I was younger but never bow hunted. Ive also read that I need to try a whole lot of different ones and the "bow will pick me." With as little experience as I have, I just wonder if I will be able to tell one from the other. Tomorrow or tuesday I plan to test fire it and see how it feels.

The reviews online seem to be good, but I'm open to any suggestions you have. $399 is really the most I'm willing to spend, which makes me wonder if the better brands are out of reach. Im really looking for the best bang for my buck.

OK, let me have it.

edit: my friend suggested I need about a 31" draw length. I am 6'3", and this bow goes up to 31".
Link Posted: 11/11/2013 6:17:41 PM EDT
[#1]
I'd seriously consider going to a pro shop, getting measured, and shooting different bows until you find the one that just feels right. Don't get caught up with brands or IBO speeds, just focus on how the bow feels when you draw and shoot. If I had to do it over again, I wouldn't have bought the first bow I did, It shoots well, but I've shot several other brands since making that first purchase and kind of regret it. I bought a diamond deadeye without shooting one because I got a really good deal on it. Now, my reasoning was I didn't want to drop upwards of 2k in a setup to find out I didn't like it. I understand about budgeting for the purchase. Any decent pro shop will be able to take your budget and provide you with several options to try.