Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/4/2013 4:16:30 PM EDT
I was approached by a friend (who does not shoot 3G) wanting me to buy his 930. I am in the market for a new shotgun for competition. However, my problem is that the barrel is ported and I do not want to compete in OPEN division. Can I take my barrel clamp and over the ports and still compete in Tac Irons? Sorry but Im a newbie to 3 gunning and want to get rid of my pump. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Link Posted: 9/4/2013 5:26:34 PM EDT
[#1]
I don't think that would work. Others have tried that.  Mossberg does sell non-ported barrels that aren't on the website for around $160 shipped. I'll find the part #s and phone # to order. I just got mine a couple weeks ago.
Link Posted: 9/4/2013 9:32:38 PM EDT
[Last Edit: StealthyBlagga] [#2]
I'd politely decline and get a gun that meets your needs from the get go. Whatever you save on the gun initially, you will spend making the gun the way you really want it. Frankly, with all the horror stories I've heard (and seen) with the Mossberg, I'd recommend you either save some $$$ and buy a used Remington 11-87 (~$400), or spend a little extra and get a new Versa Max Sportsman (~$750).
Link Posted: 9/5/2013 2:24:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Non-ported 22" vent rib barrel part #100269MT, 24" part #100270MT. Phone # (800)363-3555. Both are non-ported and use standard Mossberg chokes. You will need to reuse or buy another gas piston.
Link Posted: 9/25/2013 3:40:49 PM EDT
[#4]
I have heard of some cutting a pop can into a square patch and clamping it down with the barrel clamp.  Others have said that they did not secure it enough and it blew hot gasses back in there face.

I just got a 930 JM pro last week and only one issue and they are fixing it quickly with a part mailed to me.  All in all I wouldn't purchase a used semi over my gun, even knowing what problems there might have been.