Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/31/2016 11:17:06 AM EDT
I'm new to the sport and have just ordered a shot gun.  

An acquaintance from church, who has hunted for years, was talking about adding a red dot to his shot gun.

Is this useful?  If so what kind of red dot would be used?  

Thanks
Link Posted: 8/31/2016 5:07:42 PM EDT
[#1]
I did it when I converted my Remington 1100 to a makeshift slug gun.  Purchased a
rail mount that attached to the receiver and put a low profile Primary Arms red dot
on it.  It worked OK for slugs out to maybe 75 yards.  I don't see why it wouldn't work
as well or better for centering the shot pattern on a turkey load.

Mount

Primary Arms micro dot

Don't really know how long it would hold up, but I shot 20 or so HV slugs while sighting in
and testing loads for accuracy.  Never had any issues to indicate it wouldn't work.

Burris makes a system that mounts between the stock and the receiver.  It's quite a bit
more expensive, but I can't imagine Burris putting their name on something that doesn't
work 100%

Burris Speedbead
Link Posted: 8/31/2016 5:57:39 PM EDT
[#2]
It works really well for turkey, especially if you have a real tight choke and pattern.

Should be good to 60-75 that way.
Link Posted: 9/1/2016 8:27:38 AM EDT
[#3]
Certainly will work. Many run optics on their turkey guns - myself included. Really sucks when even Firesights blur out on you.
Link Posted: 9/1/2016 5:16:24 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks guys,

will any old red-dot work?  

A Bushnell TRS-25?

A Sightmark Ultra-short Plus?  

Link Posted: 9/1/2016 7:56:03 PM EDT
[#5]
Any quality red dot should work. Some of the cheapos may or may not stand the recoil of a turkey load.

Also, with any of the higher profile sights, you may have to get a cheek riser.
Link Posted: 9/2/2016 9:29:10 AM EDT
[#6]
Tagging for recommendations. Right now I'm planning on a TRS-25 on an Aimtech mount on my moss berg 500.