Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/18/2015 11:00:45 AM EDT
I'm gonna plant a small dove field this year, about 4 acres.  I've never done it before.  I have started disking to make sure the ground is good and broken up, and try to get out as much grass.  I have read to plant about 30lbs per acre for brown top millet, but that seems light to me.  I will be broadcast spreading, and I don't have access to any chemical sprayers and such like that.  This field runs with the gravel road going into the place, and is near two ponds.  I plan on planting towards the end of June.  Any tips or ideas?
Link Posted: 5/18/2015 1:48:31 PM EDT
[#1]
If you are broadcasting, that is light.

I would go with that much brown top, and mix in 10+'lbs each of sorghum and perhaps another millet. That will give you a staggered maturation and more hunting days across the season.

Being near a gravel road is great. Throw in a few decoys on a decoy tree and perhaps a motion or mojo dove and you should be good to go.
Link Posted: 5/18/2015 1:55:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Gravel road is good. Provide water too. Water, food and gravel. OMG!!!
Link Posted: 5/18/2015 6:03:40 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

Plus power lines along gravel road.

Before opening day, should I cut/till lanes in or leave it all up or what?
Link Posted: 6/2/2015 8:27:47 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:

You want to mow some lanes very close to the ground as dove like open ground. You can mow more as the season progresses to put more seed on the ground. Your rate seems light to me as well. I would go with 40-50 lbs/acre if broadcasting.
Link Posted: 6/2/2015 9:05:40 PM EDT
[#5]