Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/16/2014 6:52:39 PM EDT
General gun is finishing up this weekend and I have not shot a deer (OR PIG) yet.  Any advice?
I am somewhat new to hunting and completely new to this WMA.  Grand daddy used to take me out on the buggy with friends and we would kill them but that was when I was young. Alas the tradition was not handed down and things have changed since then anyways.  Holey Lands is the closest WMA to me so I spent some time exploring it over summer.  I waded and cut sawgrass (and myself) from the south side and mucked through the swampy woods from the West.  I found a good spot walking in from the high power lines with some pig shits and set up a tripod before archery season with the intention to hunt the general gun.  October has showed up and it turns out that it is the most wet month of the year there!  Animals have vacated the premises it seems! Has anyone canoed through the North side canal to find a spot? Ive read all the posts about this place and maybe I missed it with archery season being the best? Maybe the animals have moved inland or been killed? I've spent a couple days a week there since August. Any advice would be appreciated.
Link Posted: 10/19/2014 7:40:13 PM EDT
[#1]
Unless you're determined to make it happen out there, I'd find a new place to hunt. Holes and Rot are both tough places with a learning curve like no other. Guys that are successful out there are tight lipped and it takes years of trial and error to figure out yourself. The good news is that there are a lot of great places to deer hunt in south FL, so why not try another area? It's greeting a little late for deer, but you could still hunt hogs at a few WMAs during small game next month.