Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/3/2010 9:35:01 AM EDT
Looking to get a deer hunting rig that wont break the bank. This will be my first year hunting and while I have a good knowledge of AR's and pistols I have no knowledge at all as far as hunting rifles. Any suggestions for an affordable rifle and glass would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys. Oh and it would be for mostly out to 100 yds. I would like something that can reach farther, but up to 100 would get the job done.
Link Posted: 11/3/2010 10:13:00 AM EDT
[#1]
For under 100 yards and cheap you can't beat the pricing on used 30-30's.  You should be able to find a used marlin 30-30 for $200 or less.
New guns if you need new look at Marlin XL7, Savage 110/111, savage edge, Howa 1500
Link Posted: 11/3/2010 10:57:10 AM EDT
[#2]
+1 on the 30/30 suggestion.  They are plenty accurate with iron sights out to 100 yards if the shooter does his or her part, but you can find inexpensive mounts and scopes in many flavors.  I like Bushnell for budget optics - usually well under $200 with decent glass and they are pretty well made, especially for the money.

If you prefer a bolt action, I have heard some pretty good things about Savage/Stevens rifles.  Many people have posted finding them on sale at Academy Sports for right around $200 which is a pretty low price for a new bolt action rifle.
Link Posted: 11/3/2010 11:17:32 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 11/3/2010 12:37:56 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks guys. I think I'll look into Savage. Maybe a 110 or one of those Edge models.
Link Posted: 11/3/2010 1:26:06 PM EDT
[#5]
I've picked up 2 Mossberg 100ATR's int he last year and a half for very cheap prices.

One I traded a broken dirt bike for and the other I paid $256 shipped to my FFL and it had a Leopold VX1 3-9X scope on it.