Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/27/2017 10:39:44 AM EDT
I brought this up in another thread and thought I would take a second and post it here. I have been flying quadcopers since 2014 and started with building a few kits of my own. The first was a 450mm version that was a flame wheel knockoff.

After flying it and a camera around I thought, man this would make a great antenna. Everyone told me it wouldn't work and it would mess with the flight computer. I said what the heck I'm trying it anyway. I waited until night and called a ham buddy I knew had and APRS ht.

The flow went like this

My ts2000 @5w with HT antenna -> drone @300-400 ft with thd72 digipeter -> friends HT about 30miles away

We set our radios off the 144.39 just to be sure we weren't getting digipeted anywhere else. We let them beacon for about 20mins and didn't see each other. As soon as I got the drone half way up my phone started ringing and he got me. That drone didn't have any autopilot so I held it at altitude for about 10min and brought it down.

The connection was as simple as clipping the ht to the frame haha. I want to try it with my 3DR solo and a cross band repeater HT

This is the pre flight weight and balance. the test was conducted at night and I don't have any pictures because I would have crashed.

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 5/27/2017 11:03:10 AM EDT
[#1]
Nice work.  What HT is it?
Link Posted: 5/27/2017 11:30:01 AM EDT
[#2]
That's pretty cool. I have an APRS beacon that I've been planning on putting on my hexacopter.  A 70cm ATV transmitter will jam the GPS receiver on the flight controller if you get the antennas too close.
Link Posted: 5/27/2017 12:38:19 PM EDT
[#3]
That is super neat..

I'm wondering if I could setup a regular VX-5R to crossband repeat like that...
Link Posted: 5/27/2017 2:42:54 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
That is super neat..