Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/20/2017 2:34:14 AM EDT
Oh great and knowledgeable ARFCOMM community,

I am in need of a new H/T and honestly, I don't know where to start.  I'm a bit overwhelmed.  Although I am not a licensed Ham, yet, my test date is 5-11 and I'm planning on the Technician and General at the same time.  I've been playing with a UV5R (listen only) for a few months and I've come to realize that, while it'll suffice for a little while, it's not what I want.

It is lacking in several departments but the big thing I worry about is durability.  I've already returned one because the speaker mic plug on the radio wouldn't maintain contacts with the mic. The Battery attachment seems fragile, and ... well, it just feels cheap.  It's a good learning tool and an ok backup, but it's not going to cut it in the real world.

So, can you guys recommend me a H/T based on the following criteria?  I'd like:

Something relatively rugged.  The Icom IC V8 seems like it is built like the proverbial brick outhouse but it lacks stuff
Dual band.  2m/70cm
I'd really like 108-136MhZ receive.  For whatever reason, aviation audio puts me in my happy place
FM broadcast bands would be nice but not necessary
I'd like it to be a little larger than the typical Baofeng type radio.  I've got big hands and the fingers to go with it.  Tiny buttons and I do not get along
Chirp supported

Does all this exist in a single package, or am I going to have to start cutting "wants"

Thanks for the help and for all the info I've gleaned from this forum

KA
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 2:58:20 AM EDT
[#1]
I've been happy with my FT-60. Definitely larger and more rugged than a Baofeng. It generally meets your specs, and can be had for 160 new or 100 used.
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 6:12:10 AM EDT
[#2]
Yaesu FT-60.
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 6:59:10 AM EDT
[#3]
I'll go with the "all of the  above posters".
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 7:22:05 AM EDT
[#4]