Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/22/2016 4:55:46 PM EDT
Ok I've apparently lost my baofeng and after a due diligent search I give up...  I honestly hated that thing as I couldn't figure out how to program it, and had to have my dad whose been in Ham Radio a LOT longer than I've been alive whose computer savy figure it out.  

I'm looking at the ID-51A Plus.  Had my techincans license since around '98, but believe me I'm a newb.

Basically I'm looking for a dual band "handie talkie" radio that doesn't take a rocket scientist to program. Granted I understand there will be a learning curve with all radios.  But I'm looking for the simplest and easiest to program on the go that doesn't require software/computer to do so. And if possible while not necessary having all the bells and whistles.  

TIA, back to studying for my General exam
Link Posted: 8/22/2016 5:05:34 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/22/2016 5:52:47 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
View Quote

Still listening, but is this a yes?
Link Posted: 8/22/2016 6:11:57 PM EDT
[#3]
On the fly analog programming is pretty easy with the ID-51. D-star I think you could program on the fly, but it is easier to use the software that comes with the radio and get it set up that way. Pick up a micro SD with adapter to USB and get the updates, program your call, and might as well program in a few analogs. (PRO TIP: If you program in the analogs with GPS data you can search for close after the radio gets a GPS lock)
Link Posted: 8/22/2016 6:17:49 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted: