Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/9/2017 7:18:56 PM EDT
Zone 8.

I never realized how much this was going to cost me....guide, butchering, possible taxidermy, travel, etc......

I have been putting in for years and did not expect to get picked.

Any advice to prepare?
Link Posted: 7/10/2017 12:31:22 PM EDT
[#1]
Congrats! I've been putting in for a few years, figure it will probably 5+ years before I'm ever drawn though.
Link Posted: 7/10/2017 5:48:29 PM EDT
[#2]
Advice?

The advice my grandfather gave is probably best. I asked where the best place to shoot a moose is. He replied "next to the truck."

Congratulations. A moose hunt is my dream hunt.
Link Posted: 7/19/2017 7:42:59 AM EDT
[#3]
I put in for it for about 10 years. Finally said fuck it. Glad you got it.
Link Posted: 7/19/2017 9:01:42 AM EDT
[#4]
Cow or bull?

How far are you traveling to get to Maine?  You aren't required to hire a guide.

Moose hunting isn't that difficult.  A lot of driving usually, stopping and calling in areas of sign.

If you don't have a guide you need a truck and a "shit-ton" of rope to be safe.  (I think 1200' is pretty common - a coil of rope used by lobster fisherman)

ATV and a chainsaw winch can be pretty handy as well.

A fully equipped guide will be a lot easier on you in the long run though.

I wont hunt moose again unless my son wants to, or I do it with a longbow.  There really isn't much challenge in it unless you are looking for a trophy.
Link Posted: 7/21/2017 5:26:57 PM EDT
[#5]
I drew a ME tag in 97 after 10 years of applying. Drew NH my third year.
30 years and my younger brother still hasnt pulled a tag.

Both hunts were DIY.
Hope you picked a subpermittee with a strong back and a weak mind! Next most important thing is a HD plastic sled to skid out your moose. Took us 5 trips.
I'm just getting over it!

Call COs, biologists, etc NOW if DIY.