Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/25/2015 12:28:11 AM EDT
Which state has the best rates? I spent the last half hour trying to get pricing for various states, CO, UT, NV, WY, and never could find out what a non-resident tag would actually cost. I know it is late to get one but I am curious to know anyway. I am new to the whole process of the lottery systems in place for hunting in these states. Guess I am spoiled with walking into Wally World and getting a deer tag for under $20, or going online and printing off a permit from DOC.
Link Posted: 10/25/2015 9:54:51 AM EDT
[#1]
Each state will have a book about tags. I have not hunted some of those states, but I hunt colorado yearly.

http://cpw.state.co.us/thingstodo/Pages/BigGame.aspx

From there, the top two links are left over tags (what you're looking for) and OTC tags.

This late in the season, the left over / limited OTC tags are pretty much gone. Your best bet would be to start planning your hunt for next year. The draw system can be a bit confusing at first, but its really not bad and can be done all online - at least for Colorado.

But, I'd first do research on where the best states to hunt big horn. I've never really looked into it besides vaguely here and there. I do not believe Colorado is one of the better states for it. I think Nevada is the best state for chance of draw in the lower 48.

Some animals require multiple "preference points" - what they are is when you're unsuccessful in a draw, you get a point to apply for the next years draw. Some animals (and zones to hunt in) can take multiple preference points before becoming successful.