Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 5/17/2017 6:55:40 PM EDT
Not sure if I'll swing it this fall, or next spring, but I'm looking to pick up a used tractor for my houselot. I've been renting one a couple times a year for the past 3 or 4 years now. It has usually been a Terramite T5. It has a very good backhoe, but is 2wd and is pretty light. Overall, I made it work for me, but I think I need something a little larger. I typically have 100-200 yds of fill/gravel/loam delivered every year and dig up and move about the same from on-site.

My biggest question is do I want what I consider a "farm" tractor like Kubota or Green JD, or am I looking for a "construction" tractor like a larger Terramite or TLB or the yellow JD/Case tractors?

I do a lot of backhoe work to dig up stumps, large rocks, and to dig up soil to be moved. I also move and spread a lot of dirt. Given my terrain and the weather I use it in, I do think 4wd is a must for me.

I really don't need any attachments that I can think of. Not going to dig post holes, not going to mow, etc.

Thoughts?

Thanks
Link Posted: 5/17/2017 7:25:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Hard to beat a Kubota, the backhoe puts you in a whole different class, price etc. Lots of used ones around, seems like the best ones come out of Pennsylvania.
Link Posted: 5/17/2017 7:35:24 PM EDT
[#2]
Keep renting. You don't use it enough to own one.
Link Posted: 5/17/2017 7:51:32 PM EDT
[#3]
Skidsteer.
Link Posted: 5/17/2017 7:54:31 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Keep renting. You don't use it enough to own one.
View Quote