Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/30/2016 2:46:11 AM EDT
...now so as to make them happy later?  1peach and 4 Apple have survived, they're all 3-4 years old.  Some nice budding and flowering so far.  Last year we got cedar rust on some of the apples, killing 2 of them.

What should I be spraying with now to keep them healthy through the year?

Link Posted: 4/30/2016 6:47:45 AM EDT
[#1]
You should have put an oil and lime sulfur on them before they pushed too much but it's too late for that now.
Link Posted: 4/30/2016 11:24:56 AM EDT
[#2]
I can try to remember that for next year, though.  What does that do for them?

Is there anything I can spray to prevent cedar rust?
Link Posted: 5/1/2016 6:49:44 PM EDT
[#3]
I'm not an expert on fruit trees but I have been reading up on their care since I have about 15 or so on the property plus a couple of pear trees.  I am an expert at being too late for certain things.  Like reading up on proper pruning and seeing I should have done it in the winter when the tree is dormant and well before the bud out.  It's mostly a disease spreading issue, cut in the winter when there are less bugs, fungus, etc that can attack the cuts.  

Most of the sprays have good labels.  (by law!)    Spray stuff before they bud out.  This also prevents killing bees needlessly.    The stuff I used last year I missed the pre bud out spray and waited until the buds to fall and started the regimen then.  I think I sprayed 3 or 4 times during the growing season.   Many products get washed off with the rain.

The huge thing about spraying before they bud out is to also spray the bark of the trunk.  A lot of the pests live there and are waiting until it warms up.  I used a Bonide brand product.  It has good and bad reviews.  Some complained it didn't work.  I can say it worked fair but not perfect.  It was better than the year before with no spraying FWIW.