Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/13/2014 9:09:18 PM EDT
Just moved to a little 10 acre property.  
I'm gonna need a tractor for plowing a garden, blading snow,  and moving a field.
Came across this on craigslist.
Is something like this a good deal?  
I have no experience with this type of stuff.
http://topeka.craigslist.org/grd/4666751792.html
Link Posted: 9/13/2014 9:30:20 PM EDT
[#1]
I love the old  Fords.  You won't  go wrong with an old 2n as long as all the hoses and belts have been replaced.   The only issue you might have is pushing snow without 4 wheel drive but if you but some weights for the front and load the rear tires and maybe with chains you should be fine.   I've found that reversing the back blade and pushing snow backwards is the most efficient way with my lightweight JD 790.
Link Posted: 9/13/2014 9:49:40 PM EDT
[#2]
For field mowing the finish cutter would be ok but you have to be cognizant that you need to turn the other way with a fixed rear mounted implement like that.  Turn wheel left and the implement swings right off the rear tire pivot zone.  If you're not used to it you can bash into stuff until you are.  Straight mowing should be ok,  just swing wide around the trees early.
Link Posted: 9/13/2014 9:50:31 PM EDT
[#3]
I had an old ford 601 and I had a blade like that. I don't know how much snow you get but I lived in an area that got 200-300 inches a year and the blade was worthless for snow. I put tire chains on and a 15 gallon barrel on the rear draw bar and filled it with gravel for weight and put a snow blade on the front and it was a passable set up. Is there fluid in the rear tires? If not you may want to have them filled for more weight and traction.
Link Posted: 9/13/2014 9:55:14 PM EDT
[#4]