Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/24/2015 4:53:08 PM EDT
I've got one of Cabella's Visa cards and have about $1000 built up in reward dollars that I have to spend at Cabella's. I am just getting into my prepping, so I am leaning towards that type of gear. I already have your basic camping supplies like stoves and lanterns in two different fuel types. I like gardening, canning, hunting, meat processing, and anything that has to do with homesteading, and self reliance. A couple of items that I am considering so far is a pressure canner and a good meat grinder. One other thing that has been on my mind is working towards a one years food supply. I just want to stretch this as far as I can. Thanks ahead for any suggestions.
Link Posted: 7/24/2015 6:48:10 PM EDT
[#1]
I'd suggest you watch this Wendy DeWitt video, especially before getting a pressure canner or vacuum sealer... it is long, but was worth it for me.. changed my direction and now I vacuum can in glass jars

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOLuIApyNPc
Link Posted: 8/25/2015 11:42:08 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks lasnyder, that was a good video. I ended up getting one of those All American Pressure canners, a couple of dutch ovens, a couple different size can cookers for steaming meals, a life straw with water bottle, and a Forster Co-Ax reloading press.
Link Posted: 8/26/2015 8:50:55 AM EDT
[#3]
in the future, if you want to upgrade your water filtration, I'd recommend the family size Sawyer 5 gal bucket systems... I opted for the .1 micron filter, with the option of chlorinating for virus with pool shock or Clorox...

since photo, I've switched to the NaDCC shock... 1/2 a .22lr case full of 62% NaDCC in 5 gal tested to 3ppm chlorine (home shallow well water)... I would like to hear other independent test results

Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!