Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/30/2016 9:07:59 PM EDT
Any fans of the "big" stick?
I use a 7wt switch or a 7wt spey. Only use the spey on bigger or higher fast stuff.
At times I throw a "big" fly, maybe 7-8" long. Hard to throw the bigger stuff on a regular 8wt with no room to back cast.
Link Posted: 5/31/2016 4:10:41 PM EDT
[#1]
Yes, I use a 13' Meiser for steelhead fishing.
Link Posted: 6/1/2016 5:57:09 AM EDT
[#2]
I've been trying to learn to Skagit cast a 13' 7wt for the past 3 weeks without much progress.  Its definitely humbling
Link Posted: 6/1/2016 3:38:06 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I've been trying to learn to Skagit cast a 13' 7wt for the past 3 weeks without much progress.  Its definitely humbling
View Quote

Yea, it takes awhile. I've been doing it for 3 years now if I remember right. Its starting to click.

Link Posted: 6/1/2016 3:39:20 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Yes, I use a 13' Meiser for steelhead fishing.
View Quote

I too use it for steelhead, browns and coho's.
Occasionally I'll catch the odd northern pike, smallmouth bass and lake sucker.
Link Posted: 6/5/2016 6:43:46 PM EDT
[#5]
Yes I have a few. As a matter of fact I have a new one on its way to me.

When I fish it is my preferred method wherever possible.

In spey casting is very, very easy to establish bad habits. Find an instructor and you will cut years off the learning curve.

Here are some basic tips:

Don't continue your cast if your anchor is not where you want it. Keep your anchor close. Your best casts will be with what I call danger close anchors. Everything lines up for a perfectly parallel cast that way.