Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/4/2015 10:29:21 AM EDT
Any tips for bait, rigs, tackle, to use, or time/ weather to surf Fishing on the beach in Galveston?
Link Posted: 5/9/2015 2:51:30 PM EDT
[#1]
What are you fishing for?
Link Posted: 5/9/2015 3:32:15 PM EDT
[#2]
Best bet is to go for redfish and speck trout in the bay. My experience it is hard to beat shrimp or small drum as bait.

If you are night fishing, use a spotlight to attract bugs to the water, that will bring some fish in as well.
Link Posted: 5/11/2015 11:43:01 AM EDT
[#3]
What about fishing from the beach in Galveston?
Just want to catch fish. Will eat anything I catch
Link Posted: 6/22/2015 2:42:16 PM EDT
[#4]
I'm no expert on beach fishing in Galveston but we go there once a year and I usually surf fish at least a couple times.

You can buy shrimp for bait almost anywhere. Use heavy tackle and casting sinkers. Cast as far as you can, take up the slack, prop up your rod in the sand and open a cold beverage.

I usually catch a lot of those nasty cats and a few rays but occasionally a snapper or something delicious.

Link Posted: 2/18/2016 8:56:12 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 2/19/2016 2:58:51 AM EDT
[#6]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

What about fishing from the beach in Galveston?

Just want to catch fish. Will eat anything I catch
View Quote
I don't think you'll want to eat all the Ray's you're going to catch

Link Posted: 3/14/2016 1:43:17 PM EDT
[#7]
Wade to the second or third sand bar. Throw either Live Shrimp or plastics. Try to time it when the water is calm and green damn near to the beach. Also get a long ass stringer and keep the fish away from you, and don't tie the stringer to your body. Make it easy to get rid of but also secure. Sharks like to potlick a stringer of trout.