Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/5/2014 9:32:42 AM EDT
I graduated from UF yesterday and am moving back to Jacksonville, FL.  The fresh and saltwater fishing opportunities in this area are kind of overwhelming.

I have a little saltwater fishing experience to date.  I own a brand new surf fishing rod I received for Christmas, and my father owns a 17' boston whaler that we have taken to the Gulf and the inter-coastal.

I really want to get into fishing though.  I want to do it all: kayak fishing, surf fishing, offshore, etc.  I however don't have the slightest idea when to go fishing, where, what to try and catch, what to bring, how to cast, or even how to clean what I catch.

I need some reading material or other internet resources to start learning the basics.  Arfcom got me very knowledgeable about all things firearms, so I need the arfcom version for fishing!

Thanks brothers.

Link Posted: 5/5/2014 1:58:41 PM EDT
[#1]
check out the florida sportsman forums. They have it separated by regions. Lots of knowledge there.
Link Posted: 5/7/2014 10:29:54 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
check out the florida sportsman forums. They have it separated by regions. Lots of knowledge there.
View Quote

They used to be way better but still have good information
Check out thehulltruth.com
Nothing replaces walking into a good tackle shop like this one
http://www.strike-zonefishing.com/
Link Posted: 5/7/2014 11:14:59 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:

Quoted:

Strike zone is great!  I went surf fishing today from 12:30-4, and I had my best luck with a hard plastic top lure.  I caught some lady fish, and I had a few bluefish on my line but upon breaching they got off.  

I called it quits when a 5 foot shark swam within a couple feet of me!