Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/4/2014 5:41:36 AM EDT
A friend recently introduced me to a small river nearby that I really enjoy fishing. If you're familiar with MO at all it's the Grand River at Settle's Ford. It feeds into Truman Lake around Sparrowfoot.

I'm new to fishing on rivers other than fly fishing for trout. I'd like some tips for catching crappie and catfish in a smallish river. I plan on hitting this spot a few times this year and I want to be successful. After 2 trips for crappie it hasn't worked out for me so great.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 5/5/2014 2:02:53 PM EDT
[#1]
catfish are easy. Just put some chicken livers on a hook, add some split shot, and chunk it out there and wait.

Crappie are a tad more difficult. You have to find them, and I don't just mean where they are in relation to you, but how deep they are. Also, crappie tend to feed up, so you'll want your lure/bait suspending right above them. They love structure too, so if you find a bunch of rocks or a fallen tree, fish a few feet from it. They are usually schooled pretty deep, so if you find one, there are plenty more. I love sitting out with a bucket of minnows and catching them. Don't set the hook too hard either, as they have really thin mouths and you'll rip the hook out. They are the best eating freshwater fish IMO.
Link Posted: 5/5/2014 2:30:30 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm not much of a fisherman but around here, the catfish are best caught where turbulent water meets calm water, they eat all the churned up food there.
Link Posted: 5/5/2014 9:28:50 PM EDT
[#3]
I need to do chicken livers more. Hotdogs are always just so easy to grab. I also got into using cut bait for a few years.

Nothing seems to do as well as chicken livers.
Link Posted: 5/7/2014 12:27:59 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: