Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/10/2015 3:14:35 AM EDT
I've done my fair share of humping a lot of weight around when I was in the Army (10th Mountain specifically) but it was all done with heavy gear.  I have no experience with the civilian world of lightweight gear.  I currently hike regularly but mostly day hikes with an overnight camping trip every now and then, though we don't venture far from the car.  I'd like to change this and get into backpacking and hiking further and for several days.  I currently use an issued Army ruck sack and issued sleep system.  Neither of these will do lol.

I've been doing research the last few days and just want some extra advice.

Items I need:
Backpack
Sleeping bag (15 degree rating, I will not be in single digit temps)
Tent (2 person)

I'm looking for 3 season gear (I do not need 4 season)
Lightweight (does not need to be ultra lightweight)
Longest planned hikes will be 7 days (planning to do the High Sierra Trail in 7-13 months), majority will be 3-5
I don't want to spend a fortune but I also don't want to get shitty quality, so a good medium

I've learned that I need to try packs on before buying them to see what fits me best.  I have a couple in particular in mind (Osprey Atmos 65 and North Face Terra 65) that I'm going to try on this week when I head to REI.  Any other specif packs you guys would recommend?  From my research I believe 65 would be adequate for my trips.

I'm currently looking at three sleeping bags
Marmot Trestles 15
Big Agnes Encampment
Kelty Cosmic 0 Degree Down
Any suggestions on bags or comments on these in particular?

I was suggested several tents
ALPS Mountaineering Zephyr 2
Mountainsmith Morrison 2
Eureka! Apex 2
Kelty Trail Ridge 2
REI Passage 2
Like the bags, does anyone have an opinion on these tents or recommend one of their own?